airtraffic

Author Topic: Routing thru NY Class B from KFRG to Hudson SFRA  (Read 31633 times)

Offline CH2Tdriver

Routing thru NY Class B from KFRG to Hudson SFRA
« on: August 02, 2010, 04:22:42 PM »
I am a pilot/CFI based at KFRG.  I would like feedback from some of our ATC'ers here.  I am looking for the best options for departing KFRG (Republic Farmingdale, NY) and proceeding westbound thru the NY Class B with the destination being the Hudson Corridor SFRA for the tour.

Ideally what I'd like to do is depart FRG and request 2000' to the VZ bridge and then the published Skyline route northbound.  Upon reaching Alpine tower I would ask for vectors to N07 (Lincoln Park NJ) for a stopover.  Would this be something to expect to be approved realistically?

I know of course about the option to transition KJFK Class D below 500' along the beach westbound, and then Hudson river northbound in the SFRA uncontrolled airspace.  This is an option, but I would prefer to stay with ATC at 2000'.  Seems a bit safer and for first time pax the low bumpy ride might not sit so well.

Thanks in advance.
Peter

Offline MikeNYC

Re: Routing thru NY Class B from KFRG to Hudson SFRA
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 06:50:03 PM »
(bump)

Also based at KFRG, and haven't yet ventured into the Bravo. Have wanted to take the Skyline route, so perhaps this thread can get some more input?

Offline Jason

• CFI/CFII
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 08:43:40 PM »
I'm not a controller, but I've flown the route quite a bit.  It depends on the runway configuration being used. When JFK is landing the 4's, you'd probably have to duck down to 500' and fly the southshore westbound, then request a handoff to EWR TCA (127.85) which normally occurs upon reaching the tip of breezy point park.  From the Alpine tower to N07 shouldn't really be much of an issue as the Bravo starts at 3,000 in that area.