airtraffic

Author Topic: Departing/Arriving under B and C shelves  (Read 32752 times)

Offline jmallard

Departing/Arriving under B and C shelves
« on: June 11, 2010, 04:18:17 PM »
I'm a student pilot nearing my checkride for my PPL so please excuse my ignorance here. Shortly after my checkride (assuming I pass) I'm wanting to head south to EYE which lies about 6 miles from IND. I don't really want to try to remain under the shelf for Indy since the floor is 2100 and highest obstacle for that block is 2000.

My question is, what is the proper procedure for arriving and departing VFR to EYE and talking to IND? I am assuming that I would contact approach and ask to transition their airspace to EYE and then I could just follow instructions from there. However once on the ground, who do I contact to leave? Clearance or departure and what exactly do I tell them?

Thanks for the help.

Mike

Offline captray

• G4 in Czech Republic
Re: Departing/Arriving under B and C shelves
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 06:13:26 PM »
I doesn't matter if it's IND or ATL or ORD the procedure is the same.

If you get VFR flight following, the controller will, workload permitting, hand you off as necessary. That being said, you will have to be in contact with the controlling agency of the class B. It's not that big of a deal.

To leave, contact clearance delivery, if there is one, ground if there isn't and tell them what you would like to do. ' VFR flight following to XXX, transitioning through the Bravo.' That should do it.

Just remember; who you are, where you are, what you want to do.
Plain English works best, that way there is less chance for confusion.

By the way, good luck on the checkride, I'm sure you'll do fine!

Ray

Offline rpd

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2010, 06:50:38 PM »
Merely being in contact with ATC does NOT give you an automatic Class B clearance (like it does in Class C).  Pilots need a specific Class B clearance to enter.

Offline TwinkiePilot