Author Topic: VFR Altitude Situation  (Read 53778 times)

Offline mielsonwheals

VFR Altitude Situation
« on: May 07, 2012, 01:55:17 PM »
During my first long solo cross country when I was a student pilot, I was flying an Easterly magnetic course. I had planned an altitude of 5,500. There was a broken ceiling here though, so I stayed at 4,500 while planning what to do.

I know this is the wrong altitude for my magnetic course. I was receiving flight following. (They had also instructed me to maintain VFR at or below 4,500 if able). I know 3,500 would have worked, both for ATC and VFR flight rules, but it would have put me in the Manchester, NH class C airspace which extends to 4,300 MSL.

So, I stayed at 4,500. Mainly because I was receiving flight following. If I had not been, I would not have been comfortable at this altitude.

If this situation happened to me now, I would simply request to transit the class C airspace at 3,500. I guess before I was hesitant to bother ATC with a clearance through that airspace.

Just looking to confirm that the best course of action here would be to request the clearance. Thanks.

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
Re: VFR Altitude Situation
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 02:39:30 PM »
Weren't you already talking to Boston Approach on either 124.9 or 134.75?  If you were, you were implicitly cleared into/through their Class C airspace.

Offline mielsonwheals

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 03:06:38 PM »
If I was on with Manchester tower, or on with appraoch and landing at MHT, I would have known I was cleared, with radio contact and a call sign readback. 

I didn't know that being on with approach clears you to transit their class C airspace as well, even if you don't specify your intention to go through the class C. Thanks, that is valuable information.

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2012, 03:11:33 PM »