Author Topic: Upcoming IFR Practical  (Read 35689 times)

Offline flygirltammy

Upcoming IFR Practical
« on: April 30, 2009, 09:12:08 PM »
I am so nervous about this. I think that even if I studied 6 hours everyday until the practical I would still be nervous.

Here is my question/request: I have been getting lots of little advice here and there from people I meet. Are there any questions or situations that were thrown at your during either the oral or practical portion that were unexpected like it never crossed your mind, or something you studied or practiced only one time, or thought "dang, I knew I should have studied that more".

Advice? Examples?

Offline captray

• G4 in Czech Republic
Re: Upcoming IFR Practical
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 11:09:43 AM »
I've always told my students, that I would not sign you off if I did not think you were ready to pass the test.
That being said the Instrument Rating is difficult to obatain, only because of the quantity of rules involved, and that it is so different from VFR flying.
I also feel that it is the most satisfying rating that you can get!

In the end the checkride is fairly straight forward, because of the rules, there is only so much the examiner can ask you to do.

Expect; Preflight planning, don't file direct. That shows a lack of thought on your part.
             Preflight checks, radio setup, chart location and accessabilty(don't leave them in your flight bag in the back seat) Passenger briefing.
             You will do an ILS, VOR, GPS or NDB. One of them will be partial panel though.
             Holding, entering and maybe a lap or two around the course.
             Unusual attitudes and recoveries.

In the end, I am sure you will do fine. Instructors don't want there students to fail.

Let me know how you do and what was expected.

Best of Luck!

Ray

Offline american2492

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2009, 07:54:48 PM »