airtraffic

Author Topic: Tower or Center???  (Read 17880 times)

Offline JoshH

Tower or Center???
« on: February 13, 2009, 12:40:05 PM »
I'm currently a full time student at Middle Georgia College working on my Air Traffic Management degree and I just cant make my mind up if I want to work in a Center or tower..Any suggestions???

Offline almostretiredatc

Re: Tower or Center???
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 10:14:00 PM »
I have been a controller at ZMA, D01 and ZTL. While I have never worked a tower (all the previous facilities are radar only), I preferred to work D01 the best. The terminal environment is a little quicker moving and fun in my opinion. There were many times I would work the last evening rush and lined several planes on final and then signed out to go home. There was a great sense of pride and accomplishment seeing the lights lined up on final approach while walking to my car.  Someone else will have to give you the tower picture. That said, the FAA is total garbage outfit to work for with little or no regard for their employees. The only sense of accomplishment and job satisfaction has to come from within. While I could work for another 6 years, I am retiring at 50. With only 45 days to go until retirement, I wish you the best in your decision and career.

Offline jmcmanna

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2009, 10:15:36 AM »
On the opposite end of the spectrum, I've worked at 2 VFR towers and currently work at an up/down facility (where the tower and tracon are in the same building).  Working the tower is a lot of fun; it's nice to actually see the airplanes out the window sometimes.  Shooting off a line of departures is fun, especially when they're between arrivals to the same or an intersecting runway.