Author Topic: Taking Flight Advice for New Graduates Pursuing A Career in Aviation  (Read 7756 times)

Offline KB4TEZ

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/taking-flight-advice-new-graduates-pursuing-career-sullenberger/?trackingId=gMeAPaSrRR%2BIYNZGqIoeAw%3D%3D

I love his matter of fact approach (pun intended)

Now, more than ever, it is an opportune time to consider a career in aviation. However, it is crucial to acknowledge that this profession is not without its share of challenges that require diligent preparation and training.

During my own formative years as a pilot, I quickly realized that theory alone could not prepare me for the real-world challenges that aviation presents. It was through facing these trials head-on that I gained the experience and understanding of the inherent risks and developed the judgment necessary to navigate the skies with confidence and skill.
Now, I would like to share some valuable lessons that I believe will serve as guiding principles for a young pilot’s journey. These pieces of advice have been shaped by my own experiences - both successes and failures.

Stay updated with industry advancements: Aviation is a rapidly evolving field, with new technologies, regulations, and best practices emerging constantly. Staying updated can help young pilots to always be vigilant and not complacent. As a pilot, it is imperative to always be aware of your situation and be actively looking for things that might go wrong—and think about how you would handle those things. Know that one day you will face some kind of a challenge, but also know that if you are a continuous learner, constantly striving for excellence, you will have prepared yourself for these challenges more thoroughly than you realize.