airtraffic

Author Topic: Student pilot, where to go to school..  (Read 22110 times)

Offline Brewdison

Student pilot, where to go to school..
« on: March 10, 2010, 05:28:09 PM »
I'm a student pilot and my senior year of high school is coming to a close, so I'm looking at schools. My plan for now is 2 years at Schenectady County Community College for instrument and commercial rating, and then I want to get into training for ATC but I need some help. I don't really know how the process works, and I'm wondering if I should be going to a different school.

From what I understand, there is a test that I will take, and depending on the score the FAA will offer training and so on. I have been doing some reading online but it's all a bit confusing and each source seems to contradict the others. I read on source that the FAA is only hiring from a list of 14 different schools. SCCC, where I planned to go, (because it's close, cheep and I want to at least get my commercial rating) is not on that list which worries me. Should I be going to a different school and majoring in ATC, and not just aviation?

Right now I attend a school called Questar III in New York. It's a two year program that pays for me in a 152 to get my private certificate, which is a great opportunity that I'm taking advantage of.

Thank you for any help and advice I can get.

Offline otto_pilot

Re: Student pilot, where to go to school..
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2010, 10:12:46 PM »
I myself am a pro pilot major at CCBC.