airtraffic

Author Topic: En route or Terminal ATC  (Read 57625 times)

Offline NAplaya16-ATC

En route or Terminal ATC
« on: December 12, 2007, 11:00:18 AM »
Im new to liveATC and i want to be an ATC.  im currently in my 1st semester at CCBC.  right now im earning my private pilots licence, and next semester, ill be starting up my ATC classes.   I was just wondering if anyone out there had some news, information, or advice, onto what they think is the best path to take, which they think is the best choice and why, etc.   i got accepted into the en route program at ccbc, however, i still have some time to decide whether to stay en route or switch over to terminal.  ive talked to some people over here and theyve said different things, and im just looking to get some information from those who obviously have more experience than i do. 

so any info or insight would be well appreciated,  Thank you

-NAplaya

Offline DairyCreamer

Re: En route or Terminal ATC
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2007, 03:54:27 PM »
Here's my take on the whole deal.  All my opinion.

I "grew up" loving terminal ATC after observing operations for years and years at terminal facilities, with the occasional rare visit to a center.  While I was convinced terminal ATC was the only way to go, I was hired at an en-route center (ZAB).

To this point, I have absolutely loved my experience at the ARTCC (the JOB mind you, definitely not the current management conditions).  It has a huge big-picture decision making flavor, and I believe the ARTCC environment is a more comprehensive ATC experience because, short of tower functions, you do a little of everything with the radar.