Author Topic: cross country  (Read 9677 times)

Offline jovanni

cross country
« on: February 18, 2010, 08:42:51 AM »
Hi, I'm a student pilot in Long Island, NY. I was told the major cross country involves flying upstate NY, visiting 3 airports, and then return. I was thinking that between the mountains & the fast changing weather, it's kind of dangerous for a student to fly there solo the first time. I was wondering what experienced pilots think about it & what there first cross counrty was like? Thanks.

Offline captray

• G4 in Czech Republic
Re: cross country
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 08:54:06 AM »
Hey there jovanni,
It's nothing to worry about, I have been instructing in the Berkshires for over 15 years. My students long cross country is either; to Portland Maine or Syracuse, NY. depending on weather and if the TFR is in place around Kennebunckport.
When you are ready your instructor will send you out, The weather will be good and you will be ready.
I do understand that going a long distance can be scary at first but this trip is a confidence builder as well as a learning tool.
It will be a long day, but when you finish you will have a real sense of accomplishment!

Good Luck! and keep us informed.

PS My students are nervous about NY airspace, so it's all about what you get used to!

Offline jovanni

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 09:20:02 AM »
Thank you, I'll let you know about it afterwards. NY Airpace, NY roads, both are just as crazy I'm sure.

KHAOS

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2010, 12:42:15 AM »
The way we've done it out here is a dual XC out to a destination with the instructor, then the next flight would be your solo to the same place; just so you at least know what to expect and so that there's no rude surprises when you actually solo.  At least out here it's safer that way.