airtraffic

Author Topic: Composite Flight plan confusion  (Read 26751 times)

Offline psmess

Composite Flight plan confusion
« on: March 08, 2015, 09:27:48 AM »
Hello,

I am a military pilot and I am wanting to solve something that always is an issue on certain training sortie.  I have a currency requirement to fly 500ft profiles under NVGs in mountainous terrain.  To do this, we need to fly 1+45 north, so we always file a composite flight plan, IFR departure to a fix, usually AHN.  From there we proceed VFR to enter a published low-level route.  The problem we always have is picking up our IFR return leg, the controller always comes back with "I show nothing in the system", which of course always leads to filing in the air.

I've tried the phraseology "Cancel the first IFR Portion of our flight plan and proceed VFR" but that doesn't work.  I guess we could file two flight plans, but that seems unnecessary if we have procedures for composite flight plans.

I am not sure if it is what we are saying or what we are filing.  Should we be calling a FSS somewhere during the flight? Is there anything wrong with the attached flight plan?

Look forward to your inputs, thanks!

Offline 1053857

Re: Composite Flight plan confusion
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 03:04:35 PM »
I don't know if this will help for the US (and if it doesn't, it never hurts to learn something new), but in Canada and ICAO it would be inserted in the route portion:

(4) CHANGE OF FLIGHT RULES (maximum 3 characters)
The point at which the change of flight rules is planned, expressed exactly as in (2) or (3) as
appropriate, followed by a space and one of the following:
VFR if from IFR to VFR
IFR if from VFR to IFR
Examples: LN VFR
LN/N0284A050 IFR

And maybe you would file a Y flight plan to begin with, then use the examples shown above as approrpiate?

Offline psmess

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2015, 11:17:51 PM »
Thanks for the input 1053857.