Author Topic: lost two-way comms  (Read 8072 times)

Offline cassidy1190

lost two-way comms
« on: March 17, 2011, 09:16:10 PM »
While flying through Philly class B airspace today I encountered a problem.  My battery started to die.  I was able to get my radios to work temporarily after recycling the master switch and advised Philly, who I was already talking to, and had a clearance with, that my radios were going out. After a somewhat garbled response I squawked 7600 and descended out of the Bravo and went about my way VFR until I could land.  I am a low time pilot still and am wondering if I could have done anything differently, or worse, could I have done something wrong?

Offline tyketto

Re: lost two-way comms
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 11:30:07 PM »
While flying through Philly class B airspace today I encountered a problem.  My battery started to die.  I was able to get my radios to work temporarily after recycling the master switch and advised Philly, who I was already talking to, and had a clearance with, that my radios were going out. After a somewhat garbled response I squawked 7600 and descended out of the Bravo and went about my way VFR until I could land.  I am a low time pilot still and am wondering if I could have done anything differently, or worse, could I have done something wrong?

question.. the airport you landed at.. was it controlled? Did you advise Philly Tracon on which airport you intended to land at? I ask, because they probably if you were still able to receive, I wonder if they did the whole "If transmission received, rock your wings" or something similar, like they do at EAA Airventer at OSH.

BL.

Offline sykocus

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 01:43:04 AM »
Did you call either the approach or FSS after you landed to advise them you landed. If not they might be out looking for you.

Offline cassidy1190

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2011, 02:06:31 PM »