Author Topic: Access to Tower  (Read 26999 times)

Offline scorpia54

Access to Tower
« on: April 15, 2009, 03:53:08 AM »
Hi All,

I am a student pilot in Australia, I actually flew my first solo yesterday!! I am 16 years old and at school we do work experience for a week. I would like to do something with flying, but other than paperwork at my flying school not much i can do out there cause i am not qualified to instruct etc. I hold an ASIC (security card), aswell as Radiotelephony Operators license and Student pilots license and medical.

Just wondering whether it would be possible to do a week of work experience in the tower at my local aerodrome? Is it at all possible? I have security clearancess etc.

Also any other suggestions on work experience for a week in the aviation field??

Thanks and regards
Jake (PIC 0.2!!) :-D

Offline captray

• G4 in Czech Republic
Re: Access to Tower
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2009, 04:00:18 AM »
Hey Jake,
Congrats on your solo! I am not sure of the rules in your country, in the US the best bet would be working at an FBO. Pumping gas, cleaning out offices even cleaning toilets (if that's what it takes). That way you are at the airport and can interact with pilots.   Why stop at a week? Is that just a school holiday? I'm sure others here will have more ideas.

Ray

Offline scorpia54

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2009, 04:02:39 AM »
Thx, was an uneventful solo which was good, made a nice lading as well could not have gone better! would love to also do it in school hols but i fly as much as i can then! thanks for the ideas, might be a few other options because i already hold the security clearances.

Offline cessna157

• facebook
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2009, 08:58:11 AM »
I put myself through high school, college, and many years beyond working part time at an FBO.  Had a lot of great experiences. 

Got an employee discount on the airplane rental
Got to see/fuel/move some very cool jets/helicopters