airtraffic

Author Topic: 30 NY Tracon controllers eligible to retire this year?  (Read 20421 times)

Offline atc614

30 NY Tracon controllers eligible to retire this year?
« on: March 18, 2010, 06:20:53 PM »
i read a news article a few weeks back about the NY tracon having over 30 controllers eligible to retire this year. being that im a graduating CTI student in may, live in Westbury and wanted to be a NY Tracon controller since i was little; i am just wondering if this is all true and if anyone out there knew any more details about this.

Offline aevins

Re: 30 NY Tracon controllers eligible to retire this year?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 10:14:43 PM »
It's true. From what I've heard they're really looking for CPCs because they've had some training failures with OTS/CTIs. After the 90 days is up call and get a tour, they will be able to answer all of your questions.

Offline atc614

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 10:37:11 PM »
yah ive heard that the training is hard, but i also heard that no one wants to come to NY because of the high taxes, and expensive cost to live here. i really hope i get in

Offline tyketto

« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 02:33:31 AM »

To be honest, this is one of the reasons why I don't think the FAA will sack the controller involved with the "Bring your kid to work day" incident. For the past 3 - 4 years, the FAA has been hemmoraging controllers with an attrition rate so high that they can't replace them fast enough.

In all honesty, I think you'll have a good shot on getting in.

BL.

Offline aevins

« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 01:21:54 PM »

To be honest, this is one of the reasons why I don't think the FAA will sack the controller involved with the "Bring your kid to work day" incident. For the past 3 - 4 years, the FAA has been hemmoraging controllers with an attrition rate so high that they can't replace them fast enough.

In all honesty, I think you'll have a good shot on getting in.

BL.