Author Topic: EWR Feed to be "Pre-Amped"  (Read 5579 times)

Offline jkaplan

EWR Feed to be "Pre-Amped"
« on: June 22, 2006, 09:59:28 AM »
All,
We will be installing a pre-amp on our EWR feed late next week.  This should help us hear more of the aircraft on the ground.

-Jonathan

Offline KSYR-pjr

Re: EWR Feed to be "Pre-Amped"
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2006, 10:30:09 AM »
Could you provide some more details about "pre-amping?" 

I run the Syracuse, NY, feed and am just far enough away that I do not pick up most ground-based aircraft.  I am curious if what you are doing will help in my case.

Offline jkaplan

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2006, 10:36:45 AM »
Hi Peter,

I am a newbie myself, but have been learning alot from Dave and Sean.

My understanding is that a pre-amp (which is connected between the antenna and the scanner) boosts the gain on certain target frequencies.  In my case, I ordered one that boosts 118-137. 

Sean sent me the link to the supplier: http://www.advancedreceiver.com/page3.html

...and I ordered one for EWR this morning.

Offline jkaplan

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2006, 10:42:45 AM »
...so to actually answer your question... :)

I am fairly sure that the preamp will help because when I open the squelch up a bit on my scanner, I can hear the ground aircraft in the background.  Since the pre-amp is focused on a specific frequency range, it should be very helpful.

If, however, you cannot hear the ground aircraft when you open your squelch, then I would suggest making sure the antenna is as high up a possible, and is free of obstructions toward the direction of the tower.

Beyond that, someone who actually knows about radio reception should be contacted!!!!

Offline KSYR-pjr

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2006, 10:59:57 AM »
If, however, you cannot hear the ground aircraft when you open your squelch, then I would suggest making sure the antenna is as high up a possible, and is free of obstructions toward the direction of the tower.