airtraffic

Author Topic: Trying to find a scanner..  (Read 21097 times)

Offline Michael.C

Trying to find a scanner..
« on: October 24, 2005, 04:56:41 PM »
Does anyone have any suggestion, or maybe one they're selling? Right now I'm trying to find one for recreation use (I'm a student pilot and would like to listen into the airfield I fly out in and out of), but may expand to broadcasting online.

Offline davolijj

• MMAC ARSR OKC
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2005, 05:03:33 PM »
I don't know if you're looking for a base station, handheld, or mobile.  Personally my next purchase will be the Sporty's AirScan V.  I like the AM/FM capability and the price is reasonable at $99.95...perfect for the recreational user.

http://www.sportys.com/acb/showdetl.cfm?&Product_ID=6679&DID=19

Offline Jason

• CFI/CFII
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2005, 05:41:06 PM »
I've never purchased the Sporty's AirScan V, but from the pictures I've seen, it appears that the antenna is fixed onto the scanner.  Can anyone report if a different antenna can be installed or is the default one "on there for good"

Jason  8)

Offline stealth71

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2005, 05:58:02 PM »
Hey Michael. I have no experience with the Sporty's radios. I use a Radio Shack Pro-2041 to broadcast Missoula. I've had it for about 5 years and it's a great radio. I've never heard anything bad about the Pro series and they can be found on Ebay all the time for very reasonable prices. Other than that, I've heard good comments about the Bearcat 350A or 350C. In the end, most scanners are very similar with respect to features and abilities. What makes the biggest difference is whether the radio is connected to a good outdoor antenna or not.

Chris

Offline Michael.C

« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2005, 05:59:30 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion. Since my budget is very small right now since I'm spending so much on school and lessons, I bidded on this..

EDIT:
Quote from: stealth71