Author Topic: "Direct to the numbers"  (Read 12903 times)

Offline wrice123

"Direct to the numbers"
« on: August 05, 2010, 01:54:16 PM »
I'm a low time pilot so forgive my ignorance, but what is "Fly direct to the numbers"? 
 :?
I was west of an airport with a 17/35 runway, and was expecting a "right base for 17" or some other instruction involving the formal names of the legs of the pattern.  I flew a right base to the numbers at pattern altitude, expecting further directions, then was admonished for not landing.

Apparently "Fly direct to the numbers" meant I was to land right away.  I could not find that verbiage in the AIM/FAR and rarely online.  Stupid me or stupid him?

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
Re: "Direct to the numbers"
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 02:00:21 PM »
It is a very common expression used by local (Tower) controllers, at least here in the U.S.

It means, more or less, fly direct to the landing runway and land.

Offline Dave_B

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 04:00:18 PM »
I'm a low time pilot so forgive my ignorance, but what is "Fly direct to the numbers"? 
 :?
I was west of an airport with a 17/35 runway, and was expecting a "right base for 17" or some other instruction involving the formal names of the legs of the pattern.  I flew a right base to the numbers at pattern altitude, expecting further directions, then was admonished for not landing.

Apparently "Fly direct to the numbers" meant I was to land right away.  I could not find that verbiage in the AIM/FAR and rarely online.  Stupid me or stupid him?

The tower should give you pattern entry or runway approach instructions. If you are not clear about what instructions you have, you should ask. It is the only safe way to go. You could be asked to fly starting with any leg of the pattern or do a straight-in.