Author Topic: A word to the wise regarding "Fan clubs" PLEEEASE READ!  (Read 15377 times)

Offline EivlEvo

A word to the wise regarding "Fan clubs" PLEEEASE READ!
« on: April 05, 2007, 11:07:26 AM »
Dear friends at LiveATC. I am writing this to make a heartfelt suggestion that we PLEAAAAAAAAASE stop putting controllers on a pedestal in the manner in which we regard the controllers such as "Boston John" and "JFK Arnie". I truly truly LOVE their controlling styles and I LOVE this website and all that it stands for but as a pilot I can tell you that the last thing these individuals need is a fan base. I'm not saying that we should stop posting their clips or stop making comments about how great they are. But I DO suggest that we stop attempting to find out names, inform them that they have a fan base, or do ANYTHING other than listen. Im sure as Air Traffic Controllers they are MORE than aware of this website and may or may not frequent it. But I feel like this is one of those situations that the FAA or more specifically the general public would love to stumble upon and get extremely fired up with. The current direction that general aviation is taking is fantastic however in the public's eye GA is seen as a niussance that needs more strict governing. I feel while very few individuals posting on here are pilots (more than likely because they would much rather not be affiliated with ATC as though it is a radio show) I would highly recommend that we as members of this great site take the necessary action to keep it as much a learning tool and nothing else as possible.

With that said... allow me to briefly reiterate.

Listen. Love. Learn.

Try not to make it anything more than what it is. Good ATC or bad ATC.

Sincerely hoping LIVEATC isn't about to check itself into extinction.
~DAVE

Offline JetScan1

Re: A word to the wise regarding "Fan clubs" PLEEEASE READ!
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 12:19:01 PM »