airtraffic

Author Topic: Operation Rain Check dead? Bummer.  (Read 10732 times)

Offline Unbeliever

Operation Rain Check dead? Bummer.
« on: October 16, 2007, 04:36:41 PM »
I'm an instrument student now, and I decided that at this stage in my training, It would be informative to visit a TRACON for scope watching and familiarization.  So I phone up SoCal TRACON, my local TRACON, and they tell me that RainCheck is dead "For Security Reasons."

Bummer.  From what I've read, the RainCheck visits were a good eye-opener for pilots. 

I've already visited a couple of local towers, but they only get the tail end of things.

--Carlos V.

Offline KSYR-pjr

Re: Operation Rain Check dead? Bummer.
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2007, 06:26:55 PM »
Perhaps locally it is dead but not US-wide and I question whether it truly security or some other reason.  I have been visiting our local class C facility every couple of years since 9/11 with no problems. 

Too bad nonetheless since that is the perfect opportunity for you to see life on the chair side of the scope and to ask any question related to flying in their airspace. 

Offline cactushp

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2007, 07:19:42 PM »
Give SAN tower a call. They will be glad to get you a tour - only if you ask really nicely.

Offline moto400ex

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2007, 08:45:19 PM »
Well heres a taste of what you can expect to see in any tracon.

Or you may run into something like this.

Neither of the videos are mine just found them on youtube. :-P
« Last Edit: October 16, 2007, 08:55:44 PM by moto400ex »

Offline moto400ex

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2007, 10:50:29 PM »
Another really good look into a facility in this video here.

Offline tyketto

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2007, 12:53:34 AM »