airtraffic

Author Topic: New User with some questions for folks living in Sydney  (Read 9134 times)

Offline Zebski81

New User with some questions for folks living in Sydney
« on: April 13, 2011, 03:59:29 AM »
Hey guys,
I am very new to this and absolutely love it!!! I live in Sydney and listen to the SYD international feed as where i live i have a good view of most flight paths in and out.
There is a couple of things that pilots and ATC will say that I just don't understand and cannot seem to find info on it.

One is when a flight is coming in for example and they will say for example "QANTAS 452 heavy" what do they mean when they say heavy as not all say this. Does it mean they are fully loaded and need a longer runway??
(Sorry if i sound really dumb here complete newbie like i said)
And the other thing is when they are on approach they will be directed by ATC to do a direct sausage???? What does that mean?
Hope someone can help.
Cheers

alltheway

Re: New User with some questions for folks living in Sydney
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 04:38:50 AM »
The heavy means the airplane is over a certain weight causing more wake turbulence.

The sausage is possibly a waypoint, or final fix on their approach...

Offline K5PAT

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 09:56:02 AM »
Looking at the approach plate for ILS runway 34L for Sydney,  SOSIJ is an initial approach fix.  They probably pronounce it "sausage". 

Offline joeyb747

• Nothing Like A 747!
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2011, 09:57:01 AM »
There are four classes of aircraft weights:
A. Super: The A380 is athe only aircraft to fall into this class as of right now.
B. Heavy: Aircraft capable of takeoff weights of more than 300,000 pounds.
C. Large: Aircraft capable of takeoff weights of more than 41,000 pounds, but less then 300,000 pounds.
D. Small: Aircraft capable of 41,000 pounds or less maximum certificated takeoff weight.