airtraffic

Author Topic: LHR  (Read 21640 times)

Offline Braniffman

LHR
« on: April 04, 2005, 06:21:14 PM »
Hello,

nOOb here so forgive me if this topic has been discussed before (though I saw nothing similar in the forum's DB). I was wondering when and if the 'Big Kahuana' of int'l airport ATC's, LHR might go on line? Regardless, this is simply a wonderful sight.

Kudos to all of those behind this site. I will be sending a donation in shortly.

In addition to LHR, SYD would be great as well.

Thomas

Offline KSYR-pjr

Re: LHR
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 10:52:45 AM »
Quote from: Braniffman
nOOb here so forgive me if this topic has been discussed before (though I saw nothing similar in the forum's DB). I was wondering when and if the 'Big Kahuana' of int'l airport ATC's, LHR might go on line?

Someone else might have a better answer than I, but what a lot of casual users do not realize (I was guilty of this at one time, too) is that each feed is brought to you by a volunteer who happened to live nearby an airport, knew about this site, and had the resources to send the feed up to this site.

Thus, if there is a feed you want, you need to find a volunteer around that particular airport willing to invest the time and equipment needed to produce a feed.   This site will only survive on the willingness of volunteers to maintain existing feeds and provide new ones.

If you do not have the resources yourself to provide a feed, consider digging up someone that might.  :)

One good resource you might want to consider asking is a local flight school that is located at the airport in which you are interested.   Often they can be sold on the idea of providing a feed because they already have a scanner and a PC connected to the internet, they can incorporate the 10-day archive feature this site provides into their learn-to-fly curriculum, and they receive free advertising from this site if they provide a feed.