Author Topic: HF/Oceanic Feeds?  (Read 9947 times)

Offline Engjell Berisha

HF/Oceanic Feeds?
« on: August 07, 2007, 01:58:43 AM »
Good Day Mates I'm knew to the LiveATC Discussion Forums, my name is Engjell Berisha I live in Staten Island, NY and I'm a realworld pilot (182's/172's etc). I'm a big Flight Sim buff also - great stuff!

Anyway I posted this because I was wondering, shouldn't there be a lot more North Atlantic Traffic, or is it just me as every time I listen to the HF Feeds I get nothing for hours, not even position reports I keep expecting them but nope all I hear is the HF Buggs! Anyway is it just me or is there something wrong with the feed?

Does anyone ever hear anything on it?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 03:46:38 AM by Engjell Berisha »

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
Re: HF/Oceanic Feeds?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2007, 07:44:42 AM »
I run the Atlantic HF NAT Tracks feed on the U.S. side.  This feed switches frequency every 30 minutes in an attempt to be on a variety of frequencies throughout the day.  Automatically finding the current best frequency in use is an educated guess, based on typical radio propagation during the day and evening.  Sunspot numbers affect the frequencies in use, and it is difficult to track in an automatic way.

Perhaps I can entrust a group of listeners to help keep the feed on an active frequency.  I could put together a small web application to allow one to change frequencies remotely...would anyone be interested in helping with this?

Dave

Offline dave

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • LiveATC.net
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2007, 08:11:05 AM »
Thanks for posting this...I discovered this morning that the schedule is 4 hours off.  I had switched the host Linux system to UTC and forgot to modify the schedule, which was still tied to Eastern Time.  Whoops.

Fixed now...this should help a bit.

Dave

Offline Engjell Berisha

« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2007, 06:35:09 PM »