Author Topic: CTI School Question (CCBC)  (Read 6333 times)

Offline ccbcme

CTI School Question (CCBC)
« on: July 01, 2008, 09:31:00 AM »
okay so im starting ATC classes at Beaver this fall... i already have a 4 year degree and im really looking forward to classes, but im wondering if anyone that has gone to beaver or is currently there has any insight or advice as far as the actual classes go?

at what kind of pace do the teachers go?

any advice for a newbie like me? etc...

Offline davolijj

• MMAC ARSR OKC
Re: CTI School Question (CCBC)
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2008, 10:16:26 AM »
You made a good choice in going to Beaver.  I graduated there in 2003 and worked in the tower there until 2006 when I got hired by the FAA.

The ATC cirriculum there was developed by working controllers and has withstood the test of over 20 years.  Your ATC textbook is the 7110.65, not some cheesey, picture-filled ATC text.  The instructors go at a slow pace in the pilot classes and ATC 3, but you'll probably think they're going too fast in Facility I-II and EnRoute I-II.  It would behoove you to know the book, font and back (at leat chapters 1-5, and 6 if you choose EnRoute option).  I'd also suggest taking the Weather Observing/Reporting elective.  It's no joke, you need an 80 or better to take the NWS exam but it's an awesome class and certifies you as a SAWRS/LAWRS weather observer.

I just talked to the ATC coordinator Jim Scott last week and he told me they just ordered brand new simulators for EnRoute and Approach labs and he's very excited about they're implementation this summer.  They are very realistic and provide common ARTS for Approach and DSR for EnRoute.  If you go terminal route you'll also have exposure to STARS in the facility rating classes as there is a TDW (BRITE) in the control tower.  By the time you get into the facility classes they'll probably have the tower sim running as well.