Author Topic: Looking into buying second hand scanner (but i'm a newbie)  (Read 13215 times)

Offline kneecaps

Looking into buying second hand scanner (but i'm a newbie)
« on: December 01, 2004, 06:40:43 PM »
Hehe, I'm already hooked on this ATC thing, and since I don't live too far from EGFF (about 13 miles) , i've decided to look into buying a scanner (second hand if possible).

Where can I find some basic intro to the things I need to be looking for and the kinds of aerial I should be looking into getting.

If all turns out well and I manage to pickup some stuff I'd be happy to stream it :D

Offline AmericaWestCMH

• http://audio.liveatc.net:8012/kcmh2.m3u
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2004, 09:33:32 PM »
Scanners are illegal in the UK, if I'm not mistaken.

Offline kneecaps

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2004, 11:13:08 PM »
Nah....I used to own one, you can buy them everywhere (just not sure what to get). Granted this is a silly country but some things are still allowed.

We have CB band for public access transmissions and such, but you do need to be licensed to transmit on pretty much everything else.

I think it is technically illegal to tune to police bands but all you hear are beeps (encryption?) any way.

So my first query still stands.

Offline IndyTower

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2004, 11:29:36 PM »
It is illegal.  It's been discussed several times in several topics in the past.

http://www.strongsignals.net/access/content/laws.html

Offline kneecaps

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2004, 01:22:10 AM »
??? Are we talking about the correct country here? United Kingdom, Britain etc??

I checked that link and it says its legal.....

http://www.ofcom.org.uk/static/archive/ra/publication/ra_info/ra169.htm

OFCOM is our radio communications regulatory agency. I dont see anything or can find nothing on the web that says scanners are illegal. They have them at my local Maplin (the UK version of Radio Shack or something), for sale to the general public.