airtraffic

Author Topic: Becoming an air traffic controller  (Read 17658 times)

Offline At-Tair

• C-130
Becoming an air traffic controller
« on: February 28, 2008, 07:33:13 PM »
Hey guys. Im really intrested in becoming an air traffic controller but im not sure where to start. Could someone give me a step-by-step outline of what someone would have to do to become one? Thanks.

Offline NAplaya16-ATC

Re: Becoming an air traffic controller
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 08:45:34 PM »
Hey,  welcome to ATC!   Currently, I am a student for ATC at Beaver County.  It all depends on which route you would like to go.   Would you like to go either military or attend a CTI (Collegiate Training Initiative) school.  CTI schools are special schools which have recieved special permission to teach ATC to students. 

Im not completely familiar with military ATC, but I have heard that once you enlist, I have heard and I think its 6 years.  Training is longer in the military, but once you get out, you will be guaranteed a job in ATC with the FAA.

As far as looking at CTI schools, I would research as many schools as possible.  Find which places you would think you would like the most and would really enjoy attending.  Also, you might want to think about whether you want to go to a 2 or 4 year school.  ATC is only a 2 year program, but thats with ATC as a major, while if you attend a 4 year school, you could major in other things like, Aviation Management, Airport Management, etc with an ATC minor,  that way, if by some chance you cannot be an ATC (which i certainly hope not, b/c we need everybody), you still have a degree, a major or something to fall back on.