Author Topic: New and improved JFK feed setup  (Read 45343 times)

Offline dave

  • Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4215
    • LiveATC.net
New and improved JFK feed setup
« on: June 15, 2006, 09:39:31 AM »
Here are some pictures of the new setup.



Offline Jason

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
  • CFI/CFII
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2006, 01:59:00 PM »
Looks great, dave!  Awesome work and great location.

They sound incredible!!

Jason

Offline Bator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 12:27:08 PM »
I enjoy that one controller.. "Kennedy tower, hello"  :mrgreen:
PP-ASEL (Working on Instrument & Commercial)

Offline boom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 04:16:48 PM »
What range is the first tower scanner scanning?

Offline dave

  • Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4215
    • LiveATC.net
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2007, 10:09:58 AM »
What range is the first tower scanner scanning?

There is only one tower scanner and the frequencies it scans are listed on the Class B feed page.

Dave

Offline boom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2007, 05:58:41 PM »
I see there are 3 tower freqs it's monitoring.  Mind if I ask how you setup one scanner to monitor those three freqs simultaneously?

Offline Jason

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
  • CFI/CFII
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2007, 06:39:51 PM »
I see there are 3 tower freqs it's monitoring.  Mind if I ask how you setup one scanner to monitor those three freqs simultaneously?

Program the frequencies into the scanner and then hit the "scan" button.  It automatically stops on each frequency when it receives a transmission, and scans the others after a transmission ends.

Offline boom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2007, 03:11:39 PM »
Thanks for the tip Jason.  I guess I should move those 3 freqs into a new bank and set it to scan that bank only or it'll be stopping on every single preset freq.

Offline xautomailer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2008, 05:41:36 AM »
Awesome! Thanks.

Offline jsapyta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2008, 01:53:39 PM »
What are the five devices in the second picture? I see there is three uniden scanners for scanning the airwaves right?

N7XLQ

Offline Squawk 7700

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
    • Squawk 7700 on Flickr
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2008, 01:12:47 AM »
Are you using a inline preamp in your setup to make up for any loss due to the splitter?

Thanks.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2008, 09:29:52 AM by Squawk 7700 »
Feeder:
KHWD Ground/Tower
KOAK Del/Gnd/Twr
KSFO NORCAL App Rwy 28L/R
KSFO Tower/Ground
NORCAL Approach (KOAK)
NORCAL Departure (KSFO/KOAK)
KSJC NORCAL Apr#2
ZOA Oakland Center (35/40/41)
RJTT App/Dep
RJTT Tokyo Control
RJTT Twr/TCA + Ground

Offline Steel_Anxiety

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2008, 04:52:25 AM »
That looks awesome. Hopefully I will get to do something like that someday.

Offline dave

  • Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4215
    • LiveATC.net
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2008, 01:12:48 AM »
Are you using a inline preamp in your setup to make up for any loss due to the splitter?

Yes, that is exactly what the preamp is for, and only that.  With that many scanners it is a requirement, otherwise the losses are too severe - unless you really have enough link margin to not have to worry about it, which we really don't in that situation.

Dave

Offline Аэрофлот Jr.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • Facebook
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2008, 07:04:19 AM »
how much is that receiver from radioshack ?   and nice setup
sincerely, Rae

Offline chefnoel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2008, 07:03:44 PM »
Go to eBay - you can find them cheap

Also

I have a Radio Shack PRO-2018 - for sale - BRAND NEW IN THE BOX - cost two weeks ago was $99.  Will sell it for $70 plus shipping.  Send me a PM if interested.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2008, 07:06:43 PM by chefnoel »

Offline Glass-Cockpit.org

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • Our G1000 Interface project for MS Flight Simulator
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2008, 04:32:09 PM »
There is a fine line between a hobby and an obsession!!!! You're wayyyyyyyy over the line, Sir!!!  :wink:

Beautiful setup! Thanks for your hard work. I've only been haunting your site for a little while, but really enjoy it. My father-in-law (who lives in Switzerland) listens to your feeds to keep proficient with his aviation English (he is German). It was he who told me to check it out.

Thanks, Again!
Pete
WWW.Glass-Cockpit.org
Fly Safe,
Pete

Offline dave

  • Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4215
    • LiveATC.net
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2008, 08:14:10 AM »
You are right about the obsession part.  :-)

But beyond that, it is a labor of love for aviation and the fine art of effective communication.

Dave

Offline gonzalu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2010, 01:39:20 PM »
Sorry to revive this topic but it is too important to pass up. I joined JUST so I can say thank you. AMAZING the view from your setup (hope is home) and it looks to be near Bayswater.

Anyway, two things I love are aviation and communications (HAM call N2MAV) and your setup rocks!! I want to do this sooner or later and I must say, what you've done with the GROUND/TOWER mix of Kennedy is just exemplary... I'd like to know, you're doing it in software or by using Dual Watch? I figured your radio will pre-empt the TWR freq wwhen it has audio and shortcut the other ground freq.

I hate when ground or approach monopolizes the channel scan and I miss an important call on Tower while spotting!

Anyway Dave, thanks to you I enjoy my spotting trips to Kennedy sooo much more

Cheers and hopefully one day you can join us at Bayswater or Panera :-) Would love to shake your hand!

Manny
http://www.thrustimages.com
http://www.pbase.com/gonzalu/aviation

Offline dave

  • Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4215
    • LiveATC.net
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2010, 03:58:54 PM »
Hi Manny-

Glad you are enjoying the site and feeds...that mix is done in software.

Dave

Offline gonzalu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New and improved JFK feed setup
« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2010, 06:24:38 PM »
Gotcha.. thanks Dave... I also have the iPhone App of course which is also invaluable as I approach the airport. My scanner only gets the tower about 1 mile out from the car.

Cheers!