airtraffic

Author Topic: KPIE - St. Petersburg / Clearwater, FL - Now online  (Read 19999 times)

Offline Florida_Flyboy

• KPIE Live
KPIE - St. Petersburg / Clearwater, FL - Now online
« on: December 03, 2009, 11:39:09 PM »
New Feed, up and running.
I'm a pilot, I fly out of KPIE.
I normally have a scanner running 24/7 on KPIE's frequency in my workshop anyway... so why not share it, I thought.

I have to admit that it's all using old "junker" equipment I had laying around - including a Pentium II Toughbook! (Guess it is pretty tough... it's still chugging along!).  The antenna is a simple 1/4 wave (seen mounted above my HD Radio Yagi).

Even though the radio runs 24/7, please remember that KPIE is Class D from 1100 Zulu to 0400 Zulu after which time the Tower closes and the airspace becomes Class E where pilots use the tower frequency as the CTAF.  Flight Services St. Petersburg uses the frequency during these "off-hours" to provide advisories and IFR services.

KPIE is home to 3 low-cost commercial airlines: Allegiant, USA3000, and SunWing. It is also the home to The largest Coast Guard air base in the Southeast. United Parcel Service (UPS) has a hub at KPIE, The Pinellas County sheriff flies it's choppers from here, and Metro-One is our local news copter.  Also located at KPIE is Avantair, a dealer and training depot for the fantastic Piaggio aircraft.
There are two helicopter training schools, three flight training schools, and one Airframe and Powerplant training school located at KPIE. Well over a hundred beautiful private aircraft and jets roost at KPIE. Citations, Leer's, Cessnas, Pipers, King Airs, Long EZs and even some privately owned restored military aircraft. The field is serviced by the main public terminal building and two private FBO's: Sheltair and Signature Flight Service.

KPIE has four major runways 17L/35R, 4/22, 9/27, and 17R/35L which is also taxiway Alpha. The longest is over 9,700 feet.