Author Topic: KAUS (#1) feeds setup  (Read 1397 times)

Offline flunkat

KAUS (#1) feeds setup
« on: January 18, 2022, 04:29:26 PM »
My setup for KAUS #1 feeds. Mix of SDRs and Bearcat BC355N radios.

Offline flunkat

Re: KAUS (#1) feeds setup
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2022, 12:13:27 AM »
I just wanted to describe my setup (KAUS #1 feeds) in more detail since I got a couple of questions privately. Hopefully this info is useful to others trying to work through setup issues. If we get a discussion going it might help with my own setup issues. I’d love to learn more about everyone else’s setups. I’ve been reading the forums for new ideas. Just to introduce myself, I’m a commercially-rated pilot and an engineer, and I fly GA out of KAUS.

My site location:
-2.4 Nm from the official GPS coordinates for the field (KAUS).
-2.2 Nm from Tower and Tracon facility (has Tx antennas)
-1.6 Nm from closest facility antenna.
-Airfield elevation is on average about 500 feet MSL and my site at 430 ft MSL. I am lower than average field elevation and this has always been an issue in regards to catching ground level transmissions. I still catch like the majority (95%+) of the ground level transmissions with good quality though. I can catch all airplanes, but the ARF and Maintenance guys in their pickup trucks are a challenge.

The Frequency Environment:
   -   5 approach/departure frequencies:
      -   118.15 (Southeast) rarely heard.
      -   119.0 (North and west) heavily used.
      -   120.875 (South) not used often.
      -   127.225 (East) heavily used.
      -   125.325 (Final approach) heavily used.

-   Tower - 121.000
   -   Ground - 121.900
   -   Clearance Delivery - 125.500

-   ATIS - 124.400
   -    FBOs - 130.225, 130.375, 130.6

My Antenna: