airtraffic

Author Topic: Variable Reception Problems  (Read 10607 times)

Offline jkaplan

Variable Reception Problems
« on: December 04, 2006, 09:52:47 AM »
Hi Folks,

I am experiencing a frustrating problem with the EWR feed.  I am a newbie when it comes to scanner/reception issues, so please bear with me...

I utilize a radio shack discone antenna from a site located about 6 miles from EWR.  Most of the time, reception of the tower is great.  For instance, right now (9:51 EST) it is clear as a bell.  However, at times the tower is almost completely inaudible for hours at a time....

Does this have to do with weather? Time of day or night?   The difference in reception is so dramatic, yet I know that my configuration is not changing....

What am I missing?

Thanks!

Offline vz1

Re: Variable Reception Problems
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 10:21:16 PM »
i check out the feed during and it is good i do here what you are talking about.  someetimes you can not here the planes on the ground at all and other times thay are clear as a bell.  sometimes you pick up a bleedover from from a local radio station.  i have a friend who is a continental pilot who fly the 757 and 767's.  thank you again for the kewr feed.

Offline sean

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2006, 12:43:24 AM »
Jonathan,

I listened for a bit tonight and a couple of times I heard a radio station coming in pretty strong.  If it's getting into your scanner strong enough that I can hear it, it's no doubt causing you other front-end problems.   We have had pretty good luck with the AOR filters in attenuating FM broadcasters:

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/filters/0880.html

If you're feeling even more adventurous, try this one:

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/filters/0098.html

It's got a much deeper notch in the FM broadcast band, and should really do a good job at notching out the broadcast stations.  It's about double the cost, though.