Author Topic: Weird JFK Emergency Yesterday around 5:10 PM "give me 31R or I'll declare"  (Read 136021 times)

Offline VampyreGTX

• The Aspiring Pilot
Story is up on ABC 7 new york:

http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/story?section=news/investigators&id=7425425

The pilot declared the emergency due to the crosswind component.  This is directly from the head of the JFK controller's union.  

Offline jpwilde

I'm afraid I have to disagree here.  Declaration of an emergency IS a big deal
No, not always.

I have to disagree with the sentiment of that, at least.  I'm not a pro, but I like to get my feet off the ground a fair bit, and I consider myself a student of the system.

First, I don't think anybody is questioning the decision to declare an emergency in and of itself. We have no evidence one way or another whether it was necessary, so give the crew the benefit of the doubt.  If he had declared an emergency and landed normally, or gone around as instructed, we wouldn't be talking about this.  The emergency, by itself isn't what's so questionable about this.

It's the deviation from the controllers instructions that's so odd.  Declaring an emergency kicks you to the front of the line, nothing more.  It doesn't automatically bestow the right to do whatever you want, safety be damned.  You have the same right to deviate under an emergency as you do normally: only when immediate action is required for the safety of the flight.  One out of four engines running rough enough that you want to turn around might be a good reason to declare an emergency, but it's a terrible reason to fly within 50 feet of six other planes at 600 kts on your way back, for example.