airtraffic

Author Topic: Light gun work with ATC COMS - Video  (Read 12991 times)

Offline beechsundowner

• Flights
Light gun work with ATC COMS - Video
« on: July 10, 2009, 06:57:04 PM »

Two weeks ago I was with a friend who had COM failure and that was my first experience with light guns. Because of this, I thought it would behoove me to brush up on my experiences in a plane.

I posted my experiences in the Flight Aware forums.  The COM failure can be found at http://discussions.flightaware.com/viewtopic.php?p=83618#83618 and my light gun questions can be found at http://discussions.flightaware.com/viewtopic.php?p=83893#83893

Offline mdr666

Re: Light gun work with ATC COMS - Video
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 11:46:04 PM »
Really interesting video. Not being a pilot myself, I can only conclude that this is not part of the PPL training. Watching the video, I have to question how effective it really is (certainly, it would probably work better at night) - I mean, I suppose in NORDO conditions, it's better than nothing, but not exactly a resounding replacement. Good work, btw (I love in cockpit videos, expecially GA).
« Last Edit: July 10, 2009, 11:47:44 PM by mdr666 »

Offline beechsundowner

• Flights
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 11:56:08 PM »
Really interesting video. Not being a pilot myself, I can only conclude that this is not part of the PPL training. Watching the video, I have to question how effective it really is (certainly, it would probably work better at night) - I mean, I suppose in NORDO conditions, it's better than nothing, but not exactly a resounding replacement. Good work, btw (I love in cockpit videos, expecially GA).

It depends on your instructor if you get exposed to light guns.  I didn't when did my VFR training 8 years ago.

Gotta love flying as it took me 925 hours for my first exposure to light guns!  Glad I did this as it does give me much better insight on what to expect should I really go NORDO.