airtraffic

Author Topic: KLAX Final asking difference between RJ700 and 900  (Read 34713 times)

Offline PRFlyer

KLAX Final asking difference between RJ700 and 900
« on: November 25, 2013, 11:06:13 PM »
KLAX asking RJ pilot the difference between the 700 and 900.

Offline jblack0301

Re: KLAX Final asking difference between RJ700 and 900
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 01:11:40 PM »
Strange.  You'd think that they should know that...

Offline jblack0301

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2013, 04:16:24 PM »
Because I have little knowledge of aviation, what they see on their screens, and that particular aircraft type, and even I knew what the difference is.  It's not that complicated.

EDIT:  Plus, shouldn't they have memorized all of the aircraft types, their codes, their specifications, and performance abilities when being trained?  I'd just hope so.  That's like them seeing B737 on their screen, and then later a B736 and being "Duhhhh, what kind of plane are you?"
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 04:18:18 PM by jblack0301 »

Offline jblack0301

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 06:16:11 PM »
I realize that there's thousands upon thousands of aircraft codes out there.  But when we're talking about CRJ's (planes that are very common in this area of the world) they ought to know what they are.  Sure if it was some Russian-made plane that was build in Russia, and made a trip over the Pacific to LAX, and it's one that hasn't been seen before, it would be understandable.  But a plane as popular as an RJ?  That's surprising.

I completely agree that they know it's an RJ, and regardless of the variant, it has the same (if not very similar) characteristics as other RJ's.  But every aircraft code seems to follow a similar pattern. 

B741, B742, B743, B744, B748
B731, B732, B733, B734, B735, B736, B737, B738, B739
A318 A319 A320 A321
CRJ1 CRJ2 CRJ7 CRJ9