Author Topic: Continental (Colgan)-3407 -8 Crash in Buffalo  (Read 307292 times)

Offline frantzy

Re: Continental (Colgan)-3407 -8 Crash in Buffalo
« Reply #125 on: February 14, 2009, 12:26:16 PM »
As the flaps extend the airflow aft of the wings creates a greater downwash(angle of attack) on the horizontal tail that may stall if the tail surface is contaminated with ice.

I have a hard time envisioning  how the disturbed air from lowered flaps would affect the horizontal stab of this particular aircraft, given how much higher the horizontal stab is above the main wings.  I am not an engineer so clearly I must be missing something but it seems to me that the horizontal stab is well above the downwash of the main wings, flaps or no flaps.  Explanations welcome.

I wouldn't think it would be downwash, but extending flaps would change the pitch of the plane, and thus the angle of attack for the horizontal stabilizer.    Deformed with ice, it might be barely creating lift in a clean configuration, and then lose all its lift in the dirty configuration.

Offline GuessWho08

« Reply #126 on: February 14, 2009, 12:28:24 PM »
As the flaps extend the airflow aft of the wings creates a greater downwash(angle of attack) on the horizontal tail that may stall if the tail surface is contaminated with ice.

I have a hard time envisioning  how the disturbed air from lowered flaps would affect the horizontal stab of this particular aircraft, given how much higher the horizontal stab is above the main wings.  I am not an engineer so clearly I must be missing something but it seems to me that the horizontal stab is well above the downwash of the main wings, flaps or no flaps.  Explanations welcome.

in any effect, it would at the very least increase the Angle of attack on the tail. If there is already Icing, this could increase the chance of a Tail Stall.

Offline iskyfly

« Reply #127 on: February 14, 2009, 12:42:35 PM »