airtraffic

Author Topic: 911 - Las Vegas Navajo crash  (Read 31860 times)

Offline sgtstakem

911 - Las Vegas Navajo crash
« on: September 06, 2008, 02:43:20 PM »
This just illustrates how worthless 911 has become, my sympathy for all involved especially the pilot that tried so hard to get back to the runway...

Offline whterbt

Re: 911 - Las Vegas Navajo crash
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 03:02:29 PM »
Sounded like 911 did everything they could have done. The operators got as much detail from the callers as they could, and contacted the North Las Vegas tower where the plane was attempting to land. The tower had the situation under their observation and it was up to the tower to ask for additional help if needed.

As far as any resulting fires, same story, the operators got the info and said they were going to dispatch fire crews.

Offline jb8622

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2008, 09:29:58 PM »
I work part-time as a fire dept. dispatcher, and I would agree the dispatchers got as much information as they could. An aircraft fire is an extremely rare call to receive, and imagine the number of calls you would be receiving simultaneously from everyone who sees it. I think calling the tower with the information was the best course of action. You can't really send out fire units until you have a firm location to send them to.

Offline cessna157

• facebook
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2008, 08:05:26 AM »
While I'm not laughing at the situation, an inflight fire is argueably the most dangerous situation on an airplane, the calls to 911 were a bit funny.  Dispatchers handled it well....."well we can't exactly follow an airplane across the city."   I understand people were just doing what they thought was the right thing to do.

Offline slyguytoo

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2008, 06:06:32 PM »
lol yea not funny at all but i feel bad for the dispatchers cause there is really nothing 911 can do in this case.  i like the guy who keeps saying "its a big fire"